Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Travelers Excellence in Community Resilience Award

Award to a USA Nonprofit or Agency for
Outstanding Disaster Preparedness Efforts

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Travelers Foundation

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Award to a USA nonprofit organization or government agency to recognize outstanding efforts in promoting resilient communities. The purpose of this award is to promote awareness of disaster preparedness and to encourage discussions on strengthening community response and recovery actions following major disasters and events.

Applicants' initiatives should demonstrate leadership in addressing safety, community resiliency, and/or financial threats related to catastrophic events.  In addition, the program should take into consideration the varying needs of all residents of the geographic region. In light of the devastation caused by the 2017 and 2018 hurricane seasons, the 2019 award will give special consideration to organizations working to strengthen communities against hurricane risk, particularly in Texas, Florida and the Carolinas.

Award Criteria:
- Applicant organization must have a demonstrated track record of positive impacts related to disaster preparation, mitigation, response and/or recovery.
- Award may be for a new or existing program related to creating community resilience for communities facing risks from hurricane, tornado/hail, and wildfire. Programs related to creating general community preparedness are also eligible.
- The organization or program must demonstrate innovation in the field and intent to share effective strategies with others.
- Eligible organizations will submit plans to implement, or proof of having implemented, actions in the community.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 177151

Estimated Total Program Funding:


Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:


Additional Eligibility Criteria:

The organization and program must be located within the United States. Applicants must be IRS-designated public charities or government agencies; individuals are not eligible for the award. If the project is a collective effort, a single fiduciary organization must be identified. Applicants must be on sound financial footing and demonstrate strong governance practices. Previous Excellence in Community Resilience Award winners must wait three years from the time of the award before applying again.

The following organizations will not be eligible for the award:
- Organizations that discriminate on the basis of race, gender, religion, culture, age, physical disability, sexual orientation, gender identity, status as a military veteran or genetic information.
- Universities, except as fiscal agents for collaborative efforts with other entities in action-oriented initiatives.
- Religious organizations, unless it can be shown that the organization is seeking charitable funds in the direct interest of the whole community.
- Fraternal organizations.
- Political or lobbying organizations.
- Academic research projects and surveys.

Pre-Application Information:

The application for the 2018 award will be open from November 12 - December 21, 2018.

Previous Excellence in Community Resilience Award winners must wait three years from the time of the award before applying again.

Applicants must commit to having a senior executive attend the Travelers Institute Kicking Off Hurricane Preparedness Season Symposium, which will be held in late May or early June 2019.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Apply Online:

Marlene Ibsen
Vice President, Community Relations
CEO & President, Travelers Foundation

Rita Ortiz
Director, Community Relations
Senior Program Officer, Travelers Foundation

Erin Haberman
Director, Community Relations
Senior Program Officer, Travelers Foundation

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming